THP conducting ‘No Refusal’ enforcement campaign for New Year’s


THP conducting ‘No Refusal’ enforcement campaign for New Year’s

December 30, 2014 Uncategorized 0

NASHVILLE (WATE) – The Tennessee Highway Patrol is conducting another “No Refusal” traffic safety enforcement campaign for the New Year’s Eve holiday period. The state statute regarding No Refusal allows law enforcement to seek search warrants for blood samples in cases involving suspected impaired drivers.

The enforcement period begins at 12:01 a.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 31 and runs through 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, Jan. 4. Troopers will perform saturation patrols, seat belt, sobriety and driver’s license checkpoints and bar/tavern checks during the holiday.

Enforcement will take place in one county in each of the eight THP districts across the state. The participating “No Refusal” counties include Roane (Knoxville District); McMinn (Chattanooga District); Rutherford (Nashville District); Shelby (Memphis District); Washington (Fall Branch District); Cumberland (Cookeville District); Maury (Lawrenceburg District); and Hardin (Jackson District).

During last year’s New Year’s Eve holiday period, 16 people were killed in traffic crashes on Tennessee highways. Fifteen were inside vehicles while one was a pedestrian.

Alcohol was involved in six of the deaths. Seven were not wearing seat belts.

Full list of No Refusal checkpoints [PDF]

This article was found on: